Jane Jacobs Medal Honors Leaders with Creative Vision for New York City

Write and Activist Jane Jacobs

Today, The Rockefeller Foundation is happy to honor the 2012 Jane Jacobs Medal winners – Ronald Shiffman, Rosanne Haggerty, Carl Skelton, and ioby founders Erin Barnes, Brandon Whitney, and Cassie Flynn. The medal ceremony, originally scheduled for last November, was postponed until today due to the devastation caused by Hurricane Sandy. As the community continues to recover from the effects of the storm, now is an important time to celebrate the leadership and innovation of those who have helped make New York City a strong, resilient place.

Ronald Shiffman, a key figure in the creation of the model for community development corporations, will receive the 2012 Jane Jacobs Medal for Lifetime Leadership. Roseanne Haggerty, founder of the Brownsville Partnership, and an international leader in developing innovative strategies to end homelessness and strengthen communities, will receive the 2012 Jane Jacobs Medal for New Ideas and Activism. And for the first time, a Jane Jacobs Medal for New Technology and Innovation will be awarded, with two winners receiving the inaugural honor: Carl Skelton – designer of Betaville, an open-source multiplayer environment for real cities to share, discuss, tweak, and mature ideas for new works of public art, architecture, urban design, and development – and Erin Barnes, Brandon Whitney, and Cassie Flynn – co-founders of ioby, a crowd-sourced microfinance network that connects people and money to site-based environmental projects, which are conceived of, designed, and run by neighbors.

The Rockefeller Foundation created the Jane Jacobs Medal in 2007 to honor the influential urban activist and author who received a grant from the Foundation to write The Death and Life of Great American Cities. More than fifty years later, Jane Jacobs' work remains one of the most influential books ever written on urban design.

The Foundation will also begin accepting nominations for the 2013 Jane Jacobs Medals today. Nominees should be individuals who generate new ideas for the way we think about development and preservation in New York City, and promote the Jacobsean principles of dynamism, density, diversity and equity.

The nomination process will be open through April 30, 2013. If you know someone whose creative vision for the urban environment has helped make the city a more vibrant place, please submit an online form to nominate them.

Learn More About Jane Jacobs

Learn More About Our Work in New York City


Read Next

Filter by Focus Area:

blog comments powered by Disqus
Blog Post Author
Erissa Scalera

Erissa Scalera is the Rockefeller Foundation's Communications Officer in the New York office.

More posts
Filter by Focus Area:
All posts by Erissa Scalera ยป
Blog Updates via Email